Joint Committee for Administrative Regulation Review

Administrative Procedures Act | Reports | Regulatory Process | Submitting Comments

Authority - The Administrative Regulation Review Committee is established as a permanent interim committee of the legislature. The establishment of the committee recognizes the need for prompt legislative review of administrative regulations filed by the lieutenant governor.

Powers - The Administrative Regulation Review Committee has the power to hold public hearings; to examine all administrative regulations, including proposed regulations, amendments, and orders of repeal, to determine if they properly implement legislative intent and to provide comments on them to the governor and state agencies; to promote needed revision or repeal of regulations that have been adopted by state departments and agencies and, when the committee determines a regulation should be repealed or amended, to introduce a bill that would enact a statute that would supersede or nullify the regulation.

Review - The review of administrative regulations shall evaluate the legality and constitutionality of the regulation; whether the state agency has statutory authority to adopt the regulation that implements, interprets, makes specific, or otherwise carry out a statute; and whether the proposed regulation is consistent with applicable statutes.

Members - The Administrative Regulation Review Committee is composed of three members of the House appointed by the Speaker of the House, and three members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate. The membership from each house shall include at least one member from each of the two major political parties. Members serve for the duration of the legislature during which they are appointed.

ARRC Members for 28th Alaska Legislature

Representative Lora Reinbold
Senator Cathy Giessel
Senator Gary Stevens
Senator Hollis French
Representative Mike Hawker
Represenative Geran Tarr

Meetings - The Administrative Regulation Review Committee may meet during the sessions of the legislature and during the interim between sessions at such times and places in the state as the chairman may determine.

Staff - Christa Von Bergen, Administrative Regulation Review Committee Aide, Staff to Representative Lora Reinbold, Chair

Contact Information


Alaska State Capitol, Room 432
Juneau, Alaska 99801
Phone: (907) 465-4906
Toll Free: (866) 465-3822
Fax: (907) 465-3756